Back to dvds

dvd – Scotland (Bruch & Mendelssohn)


In this DVD Bruch’s VIOLIN CONCERTO features a snowy
Loch Lomond/ Arrochar area followed by a little wintry ski-ing
in the Cairngorms. A spring thaw leads to summery conditions
with a stormy Glen Coe, views from Ledaig near Oban, on to
the Isle of Skye (including Cuillin views and a visit to the Old
Man of Storr) before returning to the mainland near Oban and
Glen Coe once more. The final movement mainly visits the
Newtonmore Highland Games (Clan Macpherson march)
The Scottish Fantasy begins with a few historical sites
including cemeteries and ruins, then visits the far north
(Durness coastline) ending at Beauly. Another movement
crosses from the west coast near Ullapool down and across
to Braemar and the east. The final movement shows an open
air Ceilidh at Grantown on Spey, a woodfest in Anagach
Woods, views along the Spey valley to Ballindallock Castle,
Brodie Castle, Elgin and the Moray Firth.
The MENDELSSOHN program features:-
1: Overture Die Hebriden (Fingal’s Cave) 10:56
The sound of Iona and a boat ride to the Treshnish Isles,
featuring puffins, and Staffa on a sunny windy spring day.
2: Adagio from Symphony No. 3 “Scottish” 10:15
featuring Iona, Mull, and on to the Arisaig peninsular with
its wonderful beaches and views to the western isles.
3: Notturno (from incidental music to”A midsummer
night’s dream”) 6:25 Some historical sites between Fort
William and Lochgilphead including Glen Shiel.
4: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage 13:34 – A peaceful
opening showing various Loch and coastal scenes, ending
with some rough seas and a landing at Mallaig